Latest Press release

QSIL expands by acquisition of Philips’ operation site for fused quartz and special glass in Winschoten (NL)

11.07.2016

QSIL GmbH Quarzschmelze Ilmenau, a portfolio company of Vorndran Mannheims Capital (VMCap), has acquired the business unit "Quartz and special glass” from Philips Lighting BV.

QSIL, specialist in the production of fused quartz and – amongst worldwide only a few manufacturers of fused quartz – specialised on the production of round geometries and custom-made products out of fused quartz, announces that it acquires Philips’ fused quartz and special glass operation in Winschoten, Netherlands. The corresponding purchasing agreement has been signed last week and the closing of the transaction is planned in the third quarter of 2016.

Through the announced acquisition QSIL further expands its technology basis and acquires an absolute quality leader in the production of tubes and rods out of fused quartz. Stephan Behr, CEO at QSIL explains: „Now we have the capability to offer all our customers in the lighting industry as well as in semiconductor or chemical industry the whole spectrum of rods and tubes – produced by either using the one step or the two step tubing process, whatever brings the best advantage for the individual customer.”

The future QSIL Group will employ about 300 people and will generate sales of about 65 million euros. By this means QSIL catches up with the big competitors in the market of fused quartz.

About QSIL
QSIL GmbH Quarzschmelze Ilmenau (QSIL) is one of only a few manufacturers of fused quartz in the world and specialised on the production of round geometries and custom-made products out of fused quartz. The range of products extends from fused quartz hollow cylinders, tubes, rods and profiles to process reactors with large diameters and products processed via glass-blowing. Because of its unique plasma fusion process, QSIL is the only company with the capability to manufacture hollow cylinders (billets) using a single production step.

In addition to the main market of semiconductor industry, the most relevant markets for QSIL products are the lighting industry, the chemical industry in the sector of chemical analysis, high temperature applications and the polysilicon production for the semiconductor and photovoltaic industry. QSIL's customer basis is globally diversified. Multinational enterprises based in Europe, Asia and the United States of America are among QSIL’s customers.

QSIL as an independent company was founded in 1992, but commenced its industrial production of fused quartz as part of Ilmenauer Glaswerke GmbH already in 1977. QSIL has located its head office and production site in Langewiesen, Germany, and runs a sales office in Fremont (CA), United States of America. In the fiscal year 2016, QSIL will generate sales of about 27 million euros with about 160 employees.

For more information, visit QSIL online at www.qsil.com



Press Contact VMCap:

Sabine Menke

Phone:

+49 211 862 869 36

Fax:

+49 211 862 869 77

E-Mail:

s.menke@vmcap.com

Press releases


     © Copyright 2017 Vorndran Mannheims Capital

Pressemitteilung

QSIL übernimmt die Quarz- und Spezialglasproduktion von Philips Lighting am Standort Winschoten (NL)

11.07.2016

Die QSIL GmbH Quarzschmelze Ilmenau, ein Unternehmen im Beteiligungsportfolio von Vorndran Mannheims Capital (VMCap), hat den Unternehmensbereich Quarz und Spezialglas von der Philips Lighting BV übernommen.

QSIL, ein innovatives, weltweit tätiges Unternehmen der Quarzglasherstellung mit Sitz in Langewiesen bei Ilmenau (D), gibt bekannt, dass es die Quarz- und Spezialglasproduktion von Philips am niederländischen Standort in Winschoten erwerben wird. Ein entsprechender Kaufvertrag wurde in der vergangenen Woche unterzeichnet. Der Abschluss der Transaktion ist noch im dritten Quartal 2016 vorgesehen.

QSIL baut durch diese Akquisition ihre technologische Basis weiter aus und erwirbt einen absoluten Qualitätsführer in der Herstellung von Quarzglasrohren und -stäben. „Wir können nunmehr allen unseren Kunden aus der Lichtquellen-, Halbleiter- oder chemischen Industrie die komplette Bandbreite an Rohren und Stäben – hergestellt sowohl im einstufigen als auch im zweistufigen Verfahren – anbieten, je nachdem welches Verfahren für den einzelnen Kunden die meisten Vorzüge hat", erklärte Stephan Behr, CEO von QSIL.

Die zukünftige QSIL-Gruppe wird insgesamt ca. 300 Mitarbeiter beschäftigen und einen Umsatz von ca. 65 Mio. EUR erwirtschaften. QSIL schließt damit spürbar zu den großen Wettbewerbern im Quarzglas-Markt auf.

Über QSIL
Die QSIL GmbH Quarzschmelze Ilmenau ist ein innovatives, weltweit tätiges Unternehmen der Spezialglasherstellung, das als einer der wenigen Quarzglashersteller auf die Produktion von runden Geometrien und Sonderanfertigungen spezialisiert ist. Durch die Verwendung des eigens entwickelten Plasmaschmelzverfahrens ist QSIL der einzige Hersteller weltweit, der Hohlzylinder aus Quarzglas in einem einzigen Produktionsschritt fertigen kann.

Wichtigste Märkte sind neben der Halbleiter- und Photovoltaikindustrie auch die Lichtquellenindustrie, die chemische Industrie im Bereich der Analytik, Hochtemperaturprozesse sowie die Polysiliziumherstellung. QSIL verfügt über eine global diversifizierte Kundenbasis. Zu den Kunden zählen weltweit tätige Großunternehmen aus Europa, Asien und Amerika.

QSIL wurde im Jahr 1992 gegründet, startete jedoch als Teilbereich der Ilmenauer Glaswerke GmbH bereits 1977 mit der industriellen Fertigung von Quarzglas. Heute ist QSIL ein weltweit führender Anbieter von Produkten aus hochreinem Quarzglas. Auf Basis der flexiblen Fertigungstechnologie hat sich QSIL auf profitable Marktnischen spezialisiert. Das Unternehmen hat seinen Hauptsitz und Produktionsstandort in Langewiesen (bei Ilmenau) sowie eine Vertriebsniederlassung in den USA. QSIL wird im Jahr 2016 mit ca. 160 Mitarbeitern einen Umsatz von rund 27 Millionen Euro erzielen.

Im Internet unter www.qsil.com


Pressekontakt VMCap:

Sabine Menke

Tel:

+49 211 862 869 36

Fax:

+49 211 862 869 77

E-Mail:

s.menke@vmcap.com

Pressemitteilungen


     © Copyright 2017 VM Capital