Latest Press release

MENASOL 2013: VMCap participates in discussion on the potential for Saudi CSP industry and the positive business development of portfolio company, Rioglass Solar

10 June 2013

  • VMCap panel on "Solar Power Financing in the Middle East" at leading solar conference MENASOL in Dubai
  • Excellent prospects of success for CSP in Saudi Arabia
  • Record sales of leading manufacturer of solar reflectors and VMCap portfolio company Rioglass Solar highlight market potential

Christian Sarwa, Investment Director at Vorndran Mannheims Capital ("VMCap") and responsible for the Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) sector, spoke about solar energy investment opportunities in the Middle East and North Africa at MENASOL, the leading solar event in the region. The investment workshop "Solar Power Financing in the Middle East" took place on 15 May, 2013, and was made up of representatives from VMCap, Abengoa Solar, KfW IPEX Bank and Chadbourne & Parke. This was a unique opportunity for expert discussion on the current developments, financial challenges and prospects for solar energy investment in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA).

King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz' recent plan to take advantage of Saudi Arabia's outstanding solar irradiation and attain 25 GW before 2032 underscores the investment potential of CSP in the region. "The size of the market is even large enough to establish an independent local CSP industry", said Christian Sarwa. "Reliable framework conditions set by the Government, annual installations of more than 200 MW and cooperation with experienced project developers and component suppliers are prerequisites for the success of the country's CSP ambitions. Our portfolio company, Rioglass Solar, would be well positioned to repeat its successful expansion in the U.S. and South Africa with a local partner in Saudi Arabia."

Rioglass Solar Holding S.A. (Rioglass Solar) is a leading global manufacturer of solar reflectors for use in CSP plants. Rioglass Solar has developed proprietary technology to manufacture highly efficient mirrors for all types of CSP technology. The company's R&D activities focus on continued enhancement of the mirrors' performance and efficiency in order to make Rioglass Solar technology even more competitive and economically viable.

Rioglass Solar has shown a positive business performance with new record sales in 2012 and builds on a sound financial basis. The company has been able to attract new customers by means of newly developed mirrors for dish stirling systems as well as for low concentration photovoltaic modules. It has also extended its product range by developing an innovative structure mirror for CSP tower applications. A new production facility for the manufacture of these structure mirrors has been built in the record time of six months in Upington, South Africa. The plant, with around 60 employees, started operations at the end of May 2013.

"The challenging market situation for CSP projects at present will intensify further in 2013 which will lead to a consolidation of components suppliers", predicts Christian Sarwa. "Rioglass Solar will continue to excel in this competitive environment through more innovative and highly efficient mirror solutions for the entire CSP and concentrated photovoltaic industry".

About Vorndran Mannheims Capital

Vorndran Mannheims Capital, founded in 2000 under the name Ventizz Capital Partners, has offices in St. Gallen, Zurich, Dusseldorf and Vienna. VMCap is the exclusive advisor to the Ventizz Private Equity Funds, which provide growth capital and buyout financing for high tech companies in Western Europe. Five partners and a team of 14 additional professionals currently advise four funds with a total capital under management of EUR 675m. Ventizz Capital Fund IV L.P. is the largest of the four funds established so far. The Fund was closed at the end of 2007 after only six months of fundraising, during which EUR 450m were raised, making it one of the biggest private equity funds in the segment of growth capital and mid-size tech buyouts in the German-speaking region.

VMCap Funds have invested in 47 companies to date, with a focus on the areas of high-tech manufacturing industries, renewable energy/clean tech, and information and communication technology. In addition to a variety of trade sales, VMCap has so far floated four portfolio companies (ersol, SAF, PV Crystalox Solar and recently exceet) on European stock exchange markets.

About Rioglass Solar

Rioglass Solar Holding S.A. (Rioglass Solar) is a leading manufacturer of solar reflectors for use in CSP plants. Founded in 2007, Rioglass Solar has developed proprietary technology to manufacture highly efficient mirrors for all types of CSP technology. With over 240 employees and production facilities in Asturias (Spain), Arizona (USA) and Upington (South Africa), the company is well positioned to supply the global market in solar thermal plants. Unlike other renewable energy sources such as photovoltaic or wind, CSP has the distinct advantage of being able to store thermal energy. The need for base-load capable, utility scale renewable energy sources will drive the growth of the CSP market expected in the coming years. In 2011, Vorndran Mannheims Capital invested together with Partners Group into the company to support the product and geographic expansion of the company.

On the internet at: www.rioglassolar.com



Press Contact VMCap:

Sabine Menke

Phone:

+49 211 862 869 36

Fax:

+49 211 862 869 77

E-Mail:

s.menke@vmcap.com

Press releases


     © Copyright 2017 Vorndran Mannheims Capital

Aktuelle Pressemitteilung

MENASOL 2013: VMCap zum CSP-Potential in Saudi Arabien und der positiven wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung des Portfoliounternehmens Rioglass Solar

10. Juni 2013

  • VMCap auf dem Panel "Solar Power Financing in the Middle East" auf Solar-Leitkonferenz MENASOL in Dubai vertreten
  • Exzellente Erfolgsaussichten für CSP in Saudi Arabien
  • Rekordumsatz von VMCap Portfoliounternehmen Rioglass Solar, einem der führenden Hersteller von Solar-Reflektoren, zeigt Marktpotential auf

Christian Sarwa, Investment Director bei Vorndran Mannheims Capital (VMCap), u.a. verantwortlich für den Bereich Solarthermie, informierte auf der im Nahen Osten und Nordafrika (MENA) führenden Konferenz für Solarenergie, MENASOL, über lokale Investitions- möglichkeiten. Das Panel "Solar Power Financing in the Middle East" am 15. Mai 2013, mit Vertretern von VMCap, Abengoa Solar, KfW IPEX Bank und Chadbourne & Parke, war eine einmalige Gelegenheit für den Austausch mit Experten über aktuelle Entwicklungen, finanzielle Herausforderungen und Erfolgsaussichten für Solarenergie-Investitionen in der Region.

Der kürzlich vorgelegte Plan von König Abdullah ibn Abd al-Aziz von Saudi Arabien, die besondere Sonneneinstrahlung des Landes zu nutzen, um noch vor dem Jahr 2032 eine Solarleistung von 25 GW zu erzielen, unterstreicht das Potential für Investitionen in Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) in Saudi Arabien. "Die Grösse des Marktes ist ausreichend für eine unabhängige lokale CSP-Industrie", sagte Christian Sarwa. "Voraussetzung für den Erfolg der CSP-Ziele sind aber verlässliche staatliche Rahmenbedingungen, ein jährlicher Kapazitätszuwachs von über 200 MW sowie Kooperationen mit erfahrenen Projektentwicklern und Komponenten-Lieferanten. Unser Portfoliounternehmen Rioglass Solar wäre bereit, die erfolgreiche Expansion in die USA und nach Südafrika mit einem lokalen Partner in Saudi Arabien zu wiederholen."

Rioglass Solar Holding S.A. (Rioglass Solar) ist ein weltweit führender Produzent von Solar-Reflektoren zur Verwendung in solarthermischen Kraftwerken und für die konzentrierende Photovoltaik. Der Solarthermie-Spezialist hat eine eigene patentrechtlich geschützte Technologie zur Herstellung von hocheffizienten Spiegeln für sämtliche Typen von CSP-Kraftwerken entwickelt. Das Unternehmen arbeitet kontinuierlich an der Leistungs- und Effizienzsteigerung der Spiegel, um die eigene Technologie noch wettbewerbsfähiger und wirtschaftlich vorteilhafter zu machen.

Nach einer erfreulichen Entwicklung in den letzten Jahren erreichte Rioglass Solar einen neuen Rekordumsatz in 2012 und verfügt über eine starke finanzielle Basis. Über die neu entwickelten Spiegel für Dish Stirling Systeme sowie konzentrierende Photovoltaik Module hat Rioglass Solar neue Kunden gewonnen. Zudem wurde die Produktpalette mit einem innovativen Strukturspiegel für CSP-Turm-Kraftwerke erweitert. In einer Rekordzeit von sechs Monaten wurde ein neuer Produktionsstandort für Strukturspiegel in Upington, Südafrika, errichtet. Das Werk mit rund 60 Beschäftigten hat Ende Mai 2013 die Produktion aufgenommen.

"Die aktuell anspruchsvolle Marktsituation für CSP-Projekte wird sich in 2013 fortsetzen, was zu einer Konsolidierung der Komponentenanbieter führen wird", prophezeit Christian Sarwa. "Rioglass Solar wird sich in diesem kompetitiven Umfeld mit seinen innovativen und hocheffizienten Spiegel- lösungen für den gesamten CSP-Bereich und der konzentrierten Photovoltaik Industrie weiter differenzieren."

Über Vorndran Mannheims Capital

Vorndran Mannheims Capital, im Jahr 2000 unter dem Namen Ventizz Capital Partners AG gegründet, verfügt über Standorte in St. Gallen, Zürich, Düsseldorf und Wien. VMCap berät exklusiv die Ventizz Private Equity-Fonds, die im deutschsprachigen Raum und in angrenzenden Märkten Eigenkapital für Wachstum bei High-Tech-Unternehmen zur Verfügung stellen. Die fünf Partner von VMCap beraten mit einem Team von weiteren 14 Professionals zurzeit vier Fonds mit einem Kapitalvolumen von insgesamt 675 Mio. Euro. Der Ventizz Capital Fund IV L.P. bildet den grössten der vier bislang aufgelegten Fonds. Nach einem nur sechsmonatigen Fundraising-Prozess wurde er Ende 2007 mit einem Volumen von 450 Mio. Euro. geschlossen und ist damit einer der grössten Private Equity-Fonds im Bereich Wachstumskapital und mittelgrosse Tech-Buy-Outs im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Bis heute haben VMCap-Fonds in 47 Unternehmen mit Fokus auf die Bereiche High-Tech-Fertigungsindustrien, erneuerbare Energien/Cleantech sowie Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie investiert. Neben einer Vielzahl von Trade Sales konnte VMCap bislang vier Beteiligungsunternehmen ersol, SAF, PV Crystalox Solar und zuletzt exceet) erfolgreich an der Börse platzieren.

Über Rioglass Solar

Rioglass Solar Holding S.A. (Rioglass Solar) ist ein führender Hersteller von Solar-Reflektoren für solarthermische Kraftwerke. Rioglass Solar wurde 2007 gegründet und entwickelte eine eigene patentrechtlich geschützte Technologie, um hocheffiziente Spiegel für sämtliche Typen von CSP-Kraftwerken herzustellen. Mit mehr als 240 Angestellten an Produktionsstandorten in Asturien (Spanien), Arizona (USA) und Upington (Südafrika) ist das Unternehmen hervorragend positioniert, um den Weltmarkt für solar- thermische Kraftwerke zu beliefern. Anders als bei der Stromerzeugung aus Wind oder Photovoltaik können CSP-Kraftwerke die erzeugte Energie speichern und nach Bedarf ins Netz abgeben. Das Wachstum des globalen CSP-Marktes wird sich in den kommenden Jahren aus dem zunehmenden Bedarf an grundlastfähigen Grosskraftwerken speisen, die mit erneuerbaren Energieträgern betrieben werden. Seit dem Jahr 2011 sind Vorndran Mannheims Capital und Partners Group an Rioglass Solar beteiligt, um die Produkterweiterung und die internationale Expansion zu unterstützen.

Internet unter: www.rioglassolar.com


Pressekontakt VMCap:

Sabine Menke

Tel:

+49 211 862 869 36

Fax:

+49 211 862 869 77

E-Mail:

s.menke@vmcap.com

Pressemitteilungen


     © Copyright 2017 VM Capital