Press release

Ventizz invests in Rioglass Solar Holding S.A., a leading global component supplier for Concentrating Solar Power (CSP) plants

19 January 2012

Ventizz Capital Fund IV L.P. (Ventizz) has invested in Rioglass Solar Holding S.A. (Rioglass Solar), one of the leading manufacturers of solar reflectors for the application in concentrating solar power (CSP) plants. The investment was made together with funds managed by Partners Group, a global private markets asset manager as investment partner, and in conjunction with Jose-Maria Villanueva, the founder and CEO of Rioglass Solar, and current shareholder Abengoa, the international company that applies innovative technology solutions for sustainable development in the energy and environment sectors.

Founded in 2007, Rioglass has developed proprietary technology to manufacture highly efficient mirrors for all types of CSP technology. With over 200 employees and production facilities in Asturias (Spain) and in Arizona (USA), the company is well positioned to supply the global market in solar thermal plants. Unlike other renewable energy sources such as photovoltaic or wind, CSP has the distinct advantage of being able to store thermal energy. The need for base-load capable, utility scale renewable energy sources will drive the significant growth of the CSP market that is expected in the coming years.

"Rioglass Solar has become a global leading supplier of performance critical components in this attractive renewable energy segment. CSP continues to expand as the market is still in an early stage of development. This provides us with significant potential for further growth, which will be exploited together with Abengoa. With such a strong strategic partner Rioglass Solar is well positioned to develop successfully," said Dr. Helmut Vorndran, CEO of Ventizz Capital Partners, the exclusive advisor to the Ventizz Private Equity Funds. "With its focus on CSP technology and an excellent track record, we believe Rioglass Solar adds additional diversification to the already existing wind and photovoltaic companies of the already well-balanced renewable energy portfolio of Ventizz IV."

Jose-Maria Villanueva, founder and CEO of Rioglass Solar: "We are very pleased to have Ventizz and Partners Group on board. With their experience of financing and developing high-growth technology companies in the renewable energy sector they will add significant value to Rioglass."

The parties have agreed not to disclose details of the transaction.


Company profiles

About Ventizz Capital Partners

Ventizz Capital Partners was established in 2000 and has offices in St. Gallen, Zurich, Düsseldorf and Vienna. Ventizz Capital Partners is the exclusive advisor to the Ventizz Private Equity Funds, which provide growth capital and buyout financing for high tech companies in Western Europe. Four partners and a team of 15 additional professionals currently advise four funds with a total capital under management of EUR 675m. Ventizz Capital Fund IV L.P. is the largest of four funds established so far. The Fund was closed at the end of 2007 after only six months of fundraising, during which EUR 450m were raised, making it one of the biggest private equity funds in the segment of growth capital and mid-size tech buyouts in the German-speaking region.

Ventizz Funds have to date invested in 41 companies with a focus on the areas of renewable energy/clean tech, high-tech manufacturing industries, medical technology and information and communication technology. In addition to a variety of trade sales, Ventizz has so far floated four portfolio companies (ersol, SAF, PV Crystalox Solar and recently exceet) at European stock exchange markets.

About Partners Group

Partners Group is a global private markets investment management firm with EUR 25 billion in investment programs under management in private equity, private real estate, private infrastructure and private debt. The firm manages a broad range of customized portfolios for an international clientele of institutional investors. Partners Group is headquartered in Zug, Switzerland and has offices in San Francisco, New York, São Paulo, London, Guernsey, Paris, Luxembourg, Munich, Dubai, Singapore, Beijing, Seoul, Tokyo and Sydney. The firm employs over 550 people and is listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange (symbol: PGHN) with a market capitalization of over CHF 4 billion with a clear majority owned by its Partners and all employees.

Im Internet unter: www.partnersgroup.com



Press Contact VMCap:

Sabine Menke

Phone:

+49 211 862 869 36

Fax:

+49 211 862 869 77

E-Mail:

s.menke@vmcap.com

Press releases


     © Copyright 2017 Vorndran Mannheims Capital

Pressemitteilung

Ventizz beteiligt sich an Rioglass Solar Holding S.A., einem weltweit führenden Zulieferer für solarthermische Kraftwerke (CSP)

19.01.2012

Ventizz Capital Fund IV, L.P. (Ventizz) beteiligt sich an der Rioglass Solar Holding S.A. (Rioglass Solar), einem der weltweit führenden Hersteller von Solar-Reflektoren für den Einsatz in solarthermischen Kraftwerken. Gemeinsam mit Ventizz erwerben Fonds der Partners Group, einem globalen Manager von Privatmarktanlagen, Anteile am spanischen Solarthermie-Spezialisten. Weitere Anteilseigner sind Jose-Marie Villanueva, Gründer und CEO von Rioglass Solar, sowie Abengoa, ein multinationales Unternehmen für innovative Technologielösungen zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung im Energie- und Umweltsektor.

Rioglass Solar, 2007 in Mieres (Spanien) gegründet, hat eine eigene patentrechtlich geschützte Technologie zur Herstellung von hocheffizienten Spiegeln für sämtliche Typen von "Concentrating Solar Power" (CSP)-Kraftwerken entwickelt. Mit über 200 Mitarbeitern und Produktionsstätten in Asturien (Spanien) und Arizona (USA) ist Rioglass Solar hervorragend positioniert, um den Weltmarkt für solarthermische Kraftwerke zu beliefern. Anders als bei der Stromerzeugung aus Wind oder Photovoltaik können CSP-Kraftwerke die erzeugte Energie speichern und nach Bedarf ins Netz abgeben. Das Wachstum des globalen CSP-Marktes wird sich in den kommenden Jahren aus dem zunehmenden Bedarf an grundlastfähigen Großkraftwerken speisen, die mit erneuerbaren Energieträgern betrieben werden.

"In diesem attraktiven Segment im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien hat sich Rioglass Solar zu einem weltweit führenden Lieferanten leistungskritischer Komponenten entwickelt. Nachdem sich der Markt für Solarthermie im Kraftwerksmaßstab noch in einem frühen Entwicklungsstadium befindet, sehen wir hier erhebliches Wachstumspotenzial, welches gemeinsam mit Abengoa realisiert werden wird. Mit diesem starken strategischen Partner an Bord verfügt Rioglass Solar über eine ideale Konstellation, um sich erfolgreich weiterzuentwickeln", sagte Dr. Helmut Vorndran, Managing Partner und CEO der Ventizz Capital Partners AG, die die Ventizz-Fonds exklusiv berät. "Mit ihrem Fokus auf CSP-Technologie und einem ausgezeichnetem Track Record trägt Rioglass Solar neben den zahlreichen Wind- und Photovoltaik-Beteiligungen zu einer weiteren Diversifizierung des bereits ausgewogenen Erneuerbaren Energien - Portfolios von Ventizz IV bei."

Jose-Maria Villanueva, Gründer und CEO von Rioglass Solar: "Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir Ventizz und Partners Group als Investoren an Bord holen konnten. Ihre Erfahrung in der Finanzierung und Entwicklung von wachstumsstarken Technologieunternehmen im Erneuerbare Energien-Sektor schafft erheblichen Mehrwert für Rioglass."

Über die Details der Transaktion haben die Beteiligten Stillschweigen vereinbart.


Firmenprofile

Über Ventizz Capital Partners

Ventizz Capital Partners wurde im Jahr 2000 gegründet und verfügt über Standorte in St. Gallen, Zürich, Düsseldorf und Wien. Ventizz Capital Partners berät exklusiv die Ventizz Private Equity-Fonds, die im deutschsprachigen Raum und in angrenzenden Märkten Eigenkapital für Wachstum bei High-Tech-Unternehmen zur Verfügung stellen. Die aktuell vier Partner von Ventizz beraten mit einem Team von weiteren 15 Professionals zurzeit vier Fonds mit einem Kapitalvolumen von insgesamt 675 Mio. Euro. Der Ventizz Capital Fund IV L.P. bildet den größten der vier bislang aufgelegten Fonds. Nach einem nur sechsmonatigen Fundraising-Prozess wurde er Ende 2007 mit einem Volumen von EUR 450 Mio. geschlossen und ist damit einer der größten Private Equity-Fonds im Bereich Wachstumskapital und mittelgroße Tech-Buy-Outs im deutschsprachigen Raum.

Bis heute haben Ventizz-Fonds in 41 Unternehmen mit Fokus auf die Bereiche erneuerbare Energien/Cleantech, High-Tech-Fertigungsindustrie, Medizintechnik, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie investiert. Neben einer Vielzahl von Trade Sales konnte Ventizz bislang vier Beteiligungsunternehmen (ersol, SAF, PV Crystalox Solar und zuletzt exceet) erfolgreich an der Börse platzieren.

Im Internet unter: www.ventizz.com


Über Partners Group

Partners Group ist ein globaler Manager von Privatmarktanlagen mit einem verwalteten Vermögen von EUR 25 Mrd. in den Bereichen Private Equity, Private Real Estate, Private Infrastructure und Private Debt. Die Firma bietet internationalen institutionellen Investoren ein breit gefächertes Angebot an Fonds und maßgeschneiderten Portfolios an. Der Hauptsitz der Gesellschaft ist in Zug und weitere Niederlassungen befinden sich in San Francisco, New York, São Paulo, London, Guernsey, Paris, Luxemburg, München, Dubai, Singapur, Peking, Seoul, Tokio sowie Sydney. Partners Group beschäftigt über 550 Mitarbeiter und ist an der Schweizer Börse SIX (Symbol: PGHN) mit einer Marktkapitalisierung von über CHF 4 Mrd. notiert. Die Partner sowie alle Mitarbeiter der Partners Group halten die Mehrheit der Firma.

Im Internet unter: www.partnersgroup.com


Pressekontakt VMCap:

Sabine Menke

Tel:

+49 211 862 869 36

Fax:

+49 211 862 869 77

E-Mail:

s.menke@vmcap.com

Pressemitteilungen


     © Copyright 2017 VM Capital